Missing time zone data

Previous Topic Next Topic
 
classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
2 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Missing time zone data

apt.postgresql.org Repository Update
The following documentation comment has been logged on the website:

Page: https://www.postgresql.org/docs/13/view-pg-timezone-names.html
Description:

pg_timezone_names supposedly has the list of full time zone names (e.g.,
US/Eastern) used in Postgresql, but all it has is the list of columns for
the list. The list itself appears to be missing.
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: Missing time zone data

Tom Lane-2
PG Doc comments form <[hidden email]> writes:
> pg_timezone_names supposedly has the list of full time zone names (e.g.,
> US/Eastern) used in Postgresql, but all it has is the list of columns for
> the list. The list itself appears to be missing.

Hm, works for me:

regression=# select * from pg_timezone_names;
                  name                  | abbrev | utc_offset | is_dst
----------------------------------------+--------+------------+--------
 Africa/Accra                           | GMT    | 00:00:00   | f
 Africa/Algiers                         | CET    | 01:00:00   | f
 Africa/Bissau                          | GMT    | 00:00:00   | f
 Africa/Casablanca                      | +01    | 01:00:00   | t
 ... etc etc ...
 W-SU                                   | MSK    | 03:00:00   | f
 Poland                                 | CET    | 01:00:00   | f
 Kwajalein                              | +12    | 12:00:00   | f
 NZ-CHAT                                | +1345  | 13:45:00   | t
(1187 rows)

My guess is you've got an installation problem that prevents PG
from finding the tzdb file tree.  But it's hard to debug that
on the strength of no information about the server configuration.
In any case, I don't think this is a documentation issue ...

                        regards, tom lane